Garra Rufa And Chin Chin Pets. Please Help!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Luandanielle

Reaction score
Hi everyone im new to keeping fish. I have just inherited a large 4 ft fresh water aquarium with Garra rufa and chin chins in it. Its a nice set up and at the moment I have about 40 fish in 20 of each breed. They were rescued from and unwanted foot spa business and a friend who is moving away has been and set everything up to keep them happy for the moment. He is going next week so I need a crash course on how to keep my new additions happy as punch. They will no longer be pimped out for nibbling people dry skin. I would love any advice you can give me. I realise they may breed ect and probly need to get rid of some of them as theres quite a few in there. Im just feeding them with tropical fish food for now. I have never seen more active fish. They seem to live in harmony with the chin chins being more dominant. Please help.

Luan MANCHESTER

Do you know if you have a cycled, or mature, filter?

That's the most important thing to understand; a cycled filter will have all the beneficial bacteria needed to eat the fish's wastes. If not, the ammonia will be building up in the water all the time, and you'll need to do big water changes to get rid of it.

I'm really worried about your 'chin chins'. They're most probably Oreochromis niloticus; a fish that can grow to over a foot long, so there's no way you're going to be able to keep them in a four foot tank. What you're going to do with them is another matter :crazy: