Fluval Edge Salt Ideas

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

TCOLBY

Reaction score
Good Morning all.

So I know there is both sides of the fence about the edge. Just for starters I have 75g Freshwater, A 46 Brackish and a 10g shrimp tank. I am NO NO NO EXPERT but my tanks are doing well for 6 years. So I wanted to try some Saltwater friends. Well Its been two months of research, setup, and cycling and I have it running. Just looking for some ideas ... Tips ... Comments... ( GOOD OR BAD, I have thick skin )

Setup

6g Fluval Edge LED
AQ60 Impeller MOD
Additional 80gph nano Tranfer pump ( used for low profile flow in tank )
InTank Media Basket
10 lbs live black sand
Purple Barnacles
Staghorn Coral
2 Kenya Trees Soft Coral ( lots of work I know )
2 Black Sebae Clowns
1 Cleaner Shrimp

http://www.ratemyfishtank.com/friendemail.php/38782 couldnt find a small pic to post.

First off let me say I am not an expert on salt or freshwater but am good enough to keep and breed german rams and have been reefing for 6yrs with some trial and error but my current 49 tall reef tank is doing exceptionally well and I am growing SPS, LPS and soft corals with lightening speed! So I'm no newbie either.

Doing your research was your first step in the right direction but in that you should have seen that this tank is much to small for a pair of clowns they need atleast a 29 gal as at maturity the female of this particular type reaches 6 inches. Also 6 gallons will fowl very quickly and the first death or overfeeding can ruin the entire set up. Nano tanks are ment for the more advanced hobbiest and a bigger tank would have been easier to start with. Lastly you will not have room for many creatures in it as it is already past the fish stocking capacity for that size already. I am limited with my relatively small set up so you will be even more so.