Fish Aren't Schooling

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

FlyingFish78

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I'm new to fishkeeping and yesterday I visited the LFS and purchased my first fish: 6 Zebra Danios.

I carefully added them to the tank, making sure not to pour any of the LFS water into my tank. So far they appear to be doing well, although I haven't fed them yet. I've noticed, however, that they rarely seem to school together. Most of the time they spend darting around the tank on their own or in small, temporary groups of 2 or 3. I've read that Danios are schooling fish and I'm slightly concerned that they might be behaiving unnaturally for whatever reason.

I'd just like to know if this is any cause for concern? Perhaps they'll begin to school once I add different varieties of fish? I plan on adding a couple more Zebra Danios so perhaps this will help?

They look so lovely during those fleeting moments when they school together.

Thanks in advance for any help and advice!

Schooling is a defence mechanism, when fish feel safe there's no need to stick together all the time

Fish Crazy is right, the lack of schooling shows that the fish feel safe and happy.
Different species of fish naturally school all the time like harlequin rasboras and rummy nose tetras when in a very large tank and in large numbers.
They will also school if scared, eg. if you add new or aggressive fish.
I've noticed that my neon tetras start shoaling for a few hours after I rearrange the tanks decor or do a larger water change.
Don't worry your fish are being completely natural, it's actually good news that they are so comfortable to not school together.

Thank you both. I'm relieved to hear that all is well.

later today I'll run my first fish-in water test.