Few Questions About Setting Up A Tank

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Barb82

Reaction score
Hi I just have a few questions, help appreciated.
I'm gettng a tank given next week 24in long 8in deep and 9ins high

I want to put sand in the bottom - how on earth do I wash it??
Where will I get a light from and what sort do I need?
I got an API master test kit coming to do my cycle - it was £15 am I going to need to keep buying these and do they last long?

I really want a plec.. am I going to get one in a tank that size or am I going to have to wait 'til I get bigger {which I will lol}
What would you put in a tank that size?

Sorry about all the questions but I don't want to get it wrong :blush:

Hi I just have a few questions, help appreciated.
I'm gettng a tank given next week 24in long 8in deep and 9ins high

I want to put sand in the bottom - how on earth do I wash it??
Where will I get a light from and what sort do I need?
I got an API master test kit coming to do my cycle - it was £15 am I going to need to keep buying these and do they last long?

I really want a plec.. am I going to get one in a tank that size or am I going to have to wait 'til I get bigger {which I will lol}
What would you put in a tank that size?

Sorry about all the questions but I don't want to get it wrong :blush:

you should be able to wash it like any other substrate. I usually put some paper towels in a strainer and use them as a 'liner' when washing gravel so no little pieces go down the drain. a couple of things i've read with sand is 1) you have to stir it around or run your fingers through it every so often so 'gas pockets' don't form in the bottom of the tank. 2) when you use a gravel vac, don't have the gravel vac on the gravel directly, but let it hover over the gravel so it doesn't suck up the gravel into the vacuum.

i'm assuming this tank didn't come with a hood and light included?