Dragonscale?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Llegmore

Fishaholic
Reaction score
The more I look at this guy, the more I think he's dragonscale. Sometimes the scales don't seem big enough. I dunno...
tumblr_mtympdugYh1s0off3o2_1280.jpg

tumblr_mtympdugYh1s0off3o3_1280.jpg
tumblr_mtympdugYh1s0off3o1_1280.jpg

These are pics from a couple of days ago because he has ich right now. I'm terrible with betta identification. Please ignore the fact that he now has 3 topics. I never get answers on my journals.

I'm by no means a Betta expert and I'm quite likely to be wrong, but from what I've seen of Dragonscales, yours isn't one.
I may be wrong though.

I didn't think so until now. I was just comparing him with my other male and his scales seemed so much more separate and clear. It's probably just his metallic colouring playing tricks with my mind. I've never really wanted a dragon-scale because of the issues they have, and I'm hoping to breed Cas so a 'no' is actually good!

His tail type is half-moon. I'm just not sure of his scale type. These pics show off his scales best, not his tail.

either way, dragon scale or not; looks like a really nice fish :)

FriendlyFriendlyFish said:
I't a bit hard to tell in the picture......he might be a double tail
Dragon scale can appear in all tail types.

He looks to me like a lovely metallic, if not dragon scale.

attibones said:

I't a bit hard to tell in the picture......he might be a double tail
Dragon scale can appear in all tail types.

He looks to me like a lovely metallic, if not dragon scale.

Cheers! I'm going to go with metallic, because then I can breed him without fear.