Do I Need To Turn My Filter Off When Doing A Water Change?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

entersandman

Reaction score
Sorry if this is a dumb question but being a total noob i'm not really sure!!!

When doing my water changes do i need to turn the filter off?? I know i should turn the heater off but i'm not sure about my filter?
It's an extternal Fluval 205 and the output pipe is approx two inches under the surface, when i do a water change it then obviously comes above the water surface, is it ok to leave it running or is it better to turn it off???

Many thanks and sorry if this is a stupid question!!!

PS Anyone hear of a suicidal Danio before?? Bought my first 6 fish on Saturday 2X leopard Danios, 2X Pearl Danios and 2X Zebra Danios, i opened up my lid after they'd ben in there for a few hours just to check my water stats and one of the Leopard Danios actually jumped out of the tank and killed himself!!!! :(

i've heard stories of people's filters breaking when they're run dry at water changes.

however we rarely turn ours off, they tend to just stop by themselves when they dry up then start again when they get wet. never had a problem, but that's not to say we've not just been lucky

god that's a fat lot of help isn't it :rolleyes: :dunno:

I've been told that you can damage the impellors on internal filters (fluval specifically). The manual does say don't run them dry as it can cause damage to not just the impellor but also put strain on the motor. Personllay, I turn mine off. Might as well seeing as I have to take it appart to clean the sponges.

For the sake of reaching around to the plug socket, vs. spending a minimum of £5 on a new impellor or something more expensive I think its best to turn it off :)

It depends on how your filter is build.