Dieing Fish

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

ClairePass

Reaction score
We started with a new tank last week. The tank has been set p runnign since november and we added fish this week. We bought 10 guppy's (5 males and 5 female) 2 mollies, 2 white fish, 1 fighting fish and 2 sucking fish. Unfortunalty one of our mollies turned nasty and was attacking all the other fish hence we lost 2 guppy's and the fighting fish. But having got rid of the mollie and havign a nice peaceful tank for a couple of days one of our guppies has died again. (instidently all the females have died) it seemed to have swollen gills and was floating near the top of the water. All the other fish are fine and we even have 10 babies all healthy. I'm so confused.

What are your test results in ammonia,nitrite,nitrate,and ph, could be gill parasites, gill flukes, did the gills look red in appearance.

We haven't done any test's i'm new to this fish keeping business. But yeah the gills looked red we thought it had a stone in it mouth. (we have red gravel)

Red gill can also be high nitrites, I would recommend you take a sample of your tank water to the lfs, and tell them to write the results down, also for now I would recommend a water change of 20%, good luck.

Thankyou. I'll try that i just find it strange that it is only the female guppies that are going. The others are all ok. Are guppies more subject to dieases???

A couple of guppies were the first to go when I had a nitrite spike with a new tank as well so maybe they are a bit delicate.

When you say that the tank has been up and running since november, is that a fishless cycle with ammonia etc. If not, maybe adding all those fish was a bit much and caused an ammonia or nitrite spike :( How big is the tank?

Take Wilder's advice on how to treat. (BTW, nice fish in your avatar)