Did ich kill all my fish?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Wasp

Reaction score
Hello- I am a total novice but have used the forums for tips and advice since starting out. We have a 48l tank which has 5 guppy and 1 bristle nose. We have nearly completed a full six week cycle having fish but I currently have no fish left as of today. Totally gutted.
We have checked the water continuously as we had the guppies initially and all was well. Temperature, plants fish were great. Went to local fish shop (where we bought the guppies a couple of weeks earlier) and got the lovely bristle nose and six cardinals (they suggested and they last about 4 days - I appreciate now they are very sensitive things and our nitrate was too high and since bought a filter for that that fixed that problem but not in time-lesson learnt! Seems we have high nitrate water before it even enters the tank). Problem is we went away for a couple of nights. When we left all was well. We came back to find bristle nose dead and half his abdomen missing (had he decomposed so quickly?) and we found the guppies looking awful. They had white bumps but more so their fins were all ruggered and bits missing. They then got a grey fuzz on them all over before dying one by one. We bought ich treatment as shop said it was ich and treated instantly but absolutely no chance of saving them. I am now worried I didn’t treat the right disease? And want to ensure tank is friendly before we got some more. I have raised the temperature to 30 and am continuing to treat ich. I took charcoal filters out before treating and am now on day three of treatment. Wish I took more photos. Sorry. Please help was it ich?!?!

Attachments

• D6FC7552-3A7B-4E21-AB81-625382150BA9.jpeg
    D6FC7552-3A7B-4E21-AB81-625382150BA9.jpeg
    178.2 KB · Views: 328
  • A101981D-6B28-4A83-AF21-96972B12D7B1.jpeg
    A101981D-6B28-4A83-AF21-96972B12D7B1.jpeg
    164.8 KB · Views: 51