Cross breeding?????

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

goldengob

Reaction score
Hi
Please help!!!

If the question sounds stupid, please understand that I am totally new to tropical fish.
I purchased a tank about 6 months ago and started to add fish. Recently I purchased a female platy whom we were told was pregnant. I did the right thing and purchased a breeder net. After putting her in there, two weeks later she gave birth to about 25 fry. We then moved her out the net and back into the tank with the other fish leaving her fry in the breeder net.
What leads to my question is that in the tank we also have 2 male Guppies. Since we placed the female platy back in the tank, the male Guppies just won't let her alone. In fact its got that bad now that they are physically fighting over her and the smaller of the males has taken quite a beating to the tail.
My question is; Is it possible that Guppies and Platys can cross breed, and if not, why are the male Guppies acting this way??

Thanks ahead!

I dont think they can(different families) , but the guppies are acting that way is because you have more Males than females it sounds like. They like to be outnumbered by females.

I am sure the male guppies will try but i am not sure if they would/could be successful. perhaps others will join in here. I know that swordtails and platties will crossbreed successfully. :)

All livebearers can cross breed with each other as far as I know. The problem could be that you have too many males to each female.

I successfully cross-bred platys and guppies, but it was not meaningful, however the young turned out fine and healthy.

Fishkeeper2004 said:
All livebearers can cross breed with each other as far as I know. The problem could be that you have too many males to each female.

I successfully cross-bred platys and guppies, but it was not meaningful, however the young turned out fine and healthy.
Cross Breeding

By GuppyAdict