Complete Newbie

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

Arcticfox1977

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Arcticfox1977 said:
Forgot to say also. The guy at MA also stated not all tanks will get a nitrite/nitrate reading when cycling. I thought this was extremely strange after reading this forum. I did say to him, I thought that you had to see a climb in nitrite and nitrate with ammonia and nitrite going back to 0. He said it doesn't always happen. :/
Arcticfox1977 said:
OK, so I did a water test 7hrs after getting the new fish, all levels were 0. Did another water test 12hrs after the last one and
Ammonia somewhere between 0-0.25. Tricky to determine the colour.
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 0.
Will do a water change since I'm unsure of the ammonia level.
I have the rest of this topic in the welcome forum, but thought I would get more answers in here.

My first statement regarding some tanks don't register nitrite and nitrate, is this true?

Unless you have plants you should have nitrates. Nitrites should not register after tank is completely cycled. But until the tank is cycled you will have nitrites.

My readings since I have had the fish have been this

Ammonia 0-0.25
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 0
PH 7.6

These values have never moved from these. I do water changes when ammonia hit 0.25.

The reason why you are showing 0 for nitrites and nitrates is because your tank is so young and new that the bacteria that convert ammonia into nitrite have not grown yet.

Give it time, keep doing big (well over 50%) daily water changes as long as you show any ammonia, then in time your nitrite will start to show - keep doing the big daily water changes until both your nitrite and ammonia are 0, at which stage you should start to see some nitrate readings - this is ok up to maybe 40ppm, which should be managed by the weekly water change.