Cold Cathode Moon Light

bow1

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2007
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Location
Nottinghamshire
Two 4" cathodes. Think slow shutter speed makes it look a little lighter than it realy is. Sorry about reflection of the door.

a1009Medium.jpg
 

Chris_R

New Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2007
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
Whoa!

Excellent information, this site is paying off in just one short evening as I was almost going to splurge £20 - £30 on one of those lights with air pump things.
Just got the cold cathodes off ebay for a fiver and have an adjustable power adapter just sat here on the side.
 

Kombat

Fish Crazy
Joined
Jan 12, 2006
Messages
205
Reaction score
0
Location
Ohio
I added 4 blue LEDs as moon lights. It took me about 10 minutes with a soldering iron, lighter, speaker cable, heat shrink tubing and a sharp knife (I misplaced my wire cutters).

The heat shrink was glue lined, so made the finished item water proof.

blue_led.jpg


The LEDs illuminate the bubbles from the air curtain at the back of the tank during the daytime.

I tried some 'ocean green' LEDs on the goldfish tank, but soon removed them :sick:

I had a bad experience with the cold cathodes. The inverters output a high voltage, when one cable was pulled out accidentally the pins arched and smoke bellowed out. I still use some cold cathodes, but I never leave them on if I'm going out.
that look really good. :good: :good:
and these inverters run a 630v so your warning is more than a little valid!
Voltage isn't the concern, it's amperage. Most stun guns output 20,000 volts, but only about 3 mA so there is almost always no real damage done. The question is how much current would be coming out of those inverters.

10 mA is enough to kill if it goes through the heart. GFI circuits are set to trip at 5 mA I believe, so a GFI can literally save a person's life. 100 mA is lethal. The walls of your heart flutter and you die. At 200 mA the current is so strong that the heart doesn't flutter, it just clamps up, giving you a better chance of survival.
 

Ace Of Spades

Fish Gatherer
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Messages
2,794
Reaction score
1
Location
GB
Bit of a ressurection, my Voltage adapter came today just waiting on the cold cathodes now, will update tmorrow :good:


Finally came...

Got my cathodes from ebay and adapter from Maplin, took about 10minutes to figure out then I finally got what I had to do with lots of cracking and cutting :D....

tools I used:
Garden Cutter :D
Plyers
Clamps
Scizzors
BRUTE STRENGTH :lol:
 

Nick16

Fish Aficionado
Joined
Jul 31, 2008
Messages
3,184
Reaction score
1
Location
Surrey
use some aryldite or silicone sealent. then put the hood back on and leave to dry. (while drying get some electrical tape to secure it so the neon doesnt come away from the glue) then when dry remove the tape. bingo.
 

nitro7

Fishaholic
Joined
Aug 16, 2008
Messages
435
Reaction score
0
Location
newcastle
yep - it is bright - its bright with just one tube too :(

I'm going to insert grease proof paper into the plastic tubes round the neons to dim them a lot.

the only other thing you need to do it wire the 12v converter to the yellow and black wires... you might want to get a connector to put on the neon kit so you can plug the converter into it.
got mine set a 7and a half volts its just a nice dim light/try youp pc shop got mine for £4.99
 
OP
smithrc

smithrc

My names Russell.... ....and I'm a
Joined
Apr 13, 2004
Messages
6,146
Reaction score
1
Location
Milton Keynes - UK
yep - it is bright - its bright with just one tube too :(

I'm going to insert grease proof paper into the plastic tubes round the neons to dim them a lot.

the only other thing you need to do it wire the 12v converter to the yellow and black wires... you might want to get a connector to put on the neon kit so you can plug the converter into it.
got mine set a 7and a half volts its just a nice dim light/try youp pc shop got mine for £4.99

3 hours after the post you've quoted - we discussed changing the voltage ;)

smithrc said:
just dropped it to 6v and the light level is a lot better - i'll post a pic when my camera battery is charged.
 

dcarmor927

Fishaholic
Joined
Oct 4, 2008
Messages
650
Reaction score
0
Location
Suisun City, CA, USA

nitro7

Fishaholic
Joined
Aug 16, 2008
Messages
435
Reaction score
0
Location
newcastle
so i got my CCFLs but i cant find an adapter for it...? can someone point me in the right direction...
Something like this...
<a href="http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.js...oductId=2552560" target="_blank">http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.js...oductId=2552560</a>

This is a dead link...also how do you connect it?

sorry now it works...still tho where/how do i connect it?
this is how i did mine
PICT0089.jpg
 

dcarmor927

Fishaholic
Joined
Oct 4, 2008
Messages
650
Reaction score
0
Location
Suisun City, CA, USA
so i got my CCFLs but i cant find an adapter for it...? can someone point me in the right direction...
Something like this...
<a href="http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.js...oductId=2552560" target="_blank">http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.js...oductId=2552560</a>

This is a dead link...also how do you connect it?

sorry now it works...still tho where/how do i connect it?
this is how i did mine
PICT0089.jpg

Thanks! this actually did work after a few wiring difficulties. thanks again! :good: :good: :good:
 

Most reactions

trending

Members online

Top