Coconut shells?

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

LostBear

Fish Addict
Reaction score
I am new, and last night was spending my leisure hours looking at all of the tanks entered into the past competitions.

In one tank (I think it had a betta in it) were three, what appeared to be, half coconut shells, which had had little doorways cut into them to provide shelter for shy fish.

I have a half coconut shell, abandoned by the birds after they had devoured the contents.

So - my question is - CAN we use coconut shells in aquaria? And if so, do they need any particular preparation to make them safe? eg boiling them, shaving the bristly fibres off etc.

Thank you in advance for any comments - and also, if anyone has any other suggestions for home-made, natural looking "nooks" for fish, I'd love to hear your ideas. I expect that somewhere on this forum this may have been discussed, but I'm still learning to navigate to threads and I'm not very "tech-savvy", so if they are old discussions I may never find them.

Cheers!

Hi, i brought this one from a store a while ago. Not sure if you need to boil them, im positive some one will be able to help

Attachments

• 87E50A55-8C42-46CA-BD40-95B425B7726B.jpeg
    87E50A55-8C42-46CA-BD40-95B425B7726B.jpeg
    1.2 MB · Views: 74
bristly fibres

Yes, the fish stores at my place are selling the coconut shells for aquarium use.
Usually they shaved off the bristly fibres completely.

Take note that whatever things that you are going to put into the aquarium need to be sterilized first.

Since the birds had devoured it, it's better to boil it or pour boiling water on it and let it soak for a while.
Some birds may carry some dangerous bacteria and parasites with them.