Co2 System

šŸ  May TOTM Voting is Live! šŸ 
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
šŸ† Click here to Vote! šŸ†

irodri25

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hello I am new to the planted tank hobby and I've just started my planted tank about 2 to 3 weeks ago. I have floramax and sand as my substrateĀ  fertilize everyday I have 2 28 watt bulbs one is a T5 the other is a T8 my tank is a 55 gallon tank I have about 30 root tabs in the substrate my temperature is at 78 degrees. I also use liquid CO2 booster but I just feel like I should use a CO2 system. I want to try something inexpensive. I was reading online about CO2 systems using a pop bottle and starch and what not but I'm so confused with the co2 generator and co2 diffuser don't really know how that all works. Can anybody help me walk through the steps on how to make one and what materials I will need. Another thing is should I be supplementing my plants with potassium and magnesium and Phosphorus? I know my plants are new and they need some adjusting first but I hate thinking that there might be a deficiency with my plants....

i would not go with the pop :p bottle for the Co2 i would go with a FE method, perfectly safe and simple to use, all you need is a FE (Fire Extinguisher) Regulator with Solenoid i would recommend getting a solenoid one not just the regulator :)some Tubing, a Bubble Counter to count the bubbles, a Diffuser to get the bubbles into the tank water :p and the most important thing a Drop CheckerĀ this is to check you are not putting to much or to little Co2 into the tank, Green is good, yellow is to much and Blue is to little co2 :) you will also need 4 dKHĀ Solution with Bromo Blue to put into the Drop Checker need any more help just ask :) or PM i don't mind
Ā 
I have highlighted the things you need in Red :) i think thats everything not don't think i forgot anything
Ā 
also this can cost between Ā£50 to Ā£150 depending on where you shop and what you want :)

Zikofski said: