Cloudy water

Nic831

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2022
Messages
5
Reaction score
2
Location
Malaysia
Hi cam anyone tell me whether this cloudy water is caused by the substrate or bacteria bloom. I'm still new to this hobby.
20220112_084741.jpg
 

Byron

Fish Guru
Tank of the Month!
Joined
Feb 25, 2009
Messages
17,003
Reaction score
8,467
Location
CA
Hi cam anyone tell me whether this cloudy water is caused by the substrate or bacteria bloom. I'm still new to this hobby.

It is probably a combination of both. The appearance of the substrate suggests to me that it may be some type of plant/enriched substrate which can be initially cloudy. But a bacterial bloom is common in new tanks because the source water usually contains a lot of dissolved organics on which the waste-eating bacteria feed and they multiply rapidly, roughly every 20 minutes.
 
OP
OP
N

Nic831

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2022
Messages
5
Reaction score
2
Location
Malaysia
It is probably a combination of both. The appearance of the substrate suggests to me that it may be some type of plant/enriched substrate which can be initially cloudy. But a bacterial bloom is common in new tanks because the source water usually contains a lot of dissolved organics on which the waste-eating bacteria feed and they multiply rapidly, roughly every 20 minutes.
For this situation should I do a water change or just leave it be ?
 

Byron

Fish Guru
Tank of the Month!
Joined
Feb 25, 2009
Messages
17,003
Reaction score
8,467
Location
CA
Agree. And when refilling, pour/run the fresh water into a large bowl or similar, so it runs over as this will disturb the substrate less. This will clear much of the substrate-sourced cloudiness. Bacterial blooms are usually not improved with water changes because that is only bring yet more dissolved organics in, but even so, I have sometimes had some improvement. The main thing of course is that this is harmless, whichever source.
 

TheBenny

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2022
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Location
California
It is because of the substrate. I set up a new tank with an aqua-soil, and mine did that for the first 48 hrs. Just leave it alone and it should be pretty dang clear in no time. I think part of it will settle, but the rest gets picked up by the filter.

You can change the water, but that just seems like taking a step backwards to me.
 

Salt

Fish Fanatic
Joined
May 30, 2021
Messages
144
Reaction score
124
Location
Mesa, AZ
received_443732127433440.jpeg

If you're using fluval substrate that's what it is, I'm cycling my tank right now and having the same issue. It comes back every time you put a new plant in, also. But it's not as bad as it was my first couple of weeks. And my filter does eventually clear it.
 

woyzeck

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2021
Messages
59
Reaction score
26
Location
Melbourne
Looking counter clockwise
Any moment maybe you maybe even you
And I'd sell my soul for
Total control

Novak - has been given his Marching Orders,
 

Sgooosh

Fish Connoisseur
Joined
Dec 3, 2020
Messages
5,309
Reaction score
2,198
Location
United States
Looking counter clockwise
Any moment maybe you maybe even you
And I'd sell my soul for
Total control

Novak - has been given his Marching Orders,
Lol why does this sound like something a random sentence bot would say
 

Most reactions

Top