Betta Rescue Help

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Feathring

Reaction score
Hello all,

Quick background, I'm relatively new to fish ownership, but after seeing the conditions of a local summer camp "science project" I feel like I had to do something. For background, the fish I currently have is a young male (I'm fairly sure) that was part of a several week long science experiment. They kept several bettas in a few inches of water in the bottom of a 2-liter coke bottle for a few weeks with a plant in a funnel above it that I assume they thought would filter the water. Unsurprisingly the water the fish were in was fetid and they all died but this one.

As for his current condition he seems pretty weak, and very pale though his color has perked up since he is in a new place. He drops to the bottom immediately if he stops swimming (so some sort of swim bladder issue) and spends most of the day laying on the ground. He is regularly moving around to new spots to lay though, and shows interest when someone is near or when I've added a pellet or two to the water to see if he will eat. He can swim to the surface too, and does on occasion to breathe, he just can't keep himself floating. I don't see any obvious spotting on him either, and he doesn't look bloated or pine-coned out which I was told by a friend to watch for.

Unfortunately all I've had on short notice was a small 1 gallon tank to put him in with a few little nooks and crannies, a heater, and a moss ball that were donated by the friend. I know most people suggest a larger habitat for them, and am definitely open to getting a larger habitat in the near future but I felt like getting him out of the coke bottle was the first priority.

I guess my real question is what is the best way to proceed from here?

Hi and welcome to the forum :)