Beginner scaping help

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

djlombar

Reaction score
I am staging my hardscaping and roughly planning out the plants as well. I have never done a natural tank before so I am looking for any advice/help I can get. Some quick details about the tank (thanks @Byron @Wills @Slaphppy7 for the advice thus far!):
  • 55 gallon tank, play sand substrate with some river pebbles mixed in, Fluval 407 filter, Full spectrum light, dual 150W Eheim heaters
  • Planned fish (introduced over time of course):
    • 12-15 Neon/Cardinal Tetra
    • 3-6 Bolivian Ram
    • 5 Clown Killifish
    • 5-6 Corys
    • 10 or so Amano Shrimp
    • 3-4 Gobys (hopefully)
Below is the tank with the added sand and some rocks thrown in for now. I have assorted river rock I plan on using from small pebbles to the large 3-5" stones shown in the tank. This will be a low-tech setup so I am thinking of plants like Anubias, Java Fern, Moss, Cryptocoryne, and a floating plant (probably Redroot?).
What suggestions do you have as far as rearranging and placement? Besides not having a good eye for design, one of my biggest concerns is getting the right amount of plants give I do want a bunch of fish.

Thanks in advance! If anyone is willing to DM me for more back and forth I would be grateful!

20220905_110730.jpg

20220905_110724.jpg

20220905_110738.jpg

I personally love a mangrove root look where the roots are coming down...
So maybe try flipping the wood upside down and putting it in different areas to see how you like it.
Then get some nice 1-4 inch river rock and stack it in some areas, pushing some into the sand.
This would be great if you had gobies as most love a nice cave

I personally love a mangrove root look where the roots are coming down...
So maybe try flipping the wood upside down and putting it in different areas to see how you like it.