Bah!

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Kairi

Fish Addict
Reaction score
ok, this tank has been cycled WELL over a year... and i've been having serious issues w/ my mollies overstocking me (quickly, i might add) and have been trying to thin their population out to 1... (not working just yet).

anyways, i tested the water last night, and here's what i found:
ammonia: 2ppm
nitrAtes: 80ppm
nitrItes: 0.25ppm
pH (of tank): 6.0
pH (of tap): it either said 7.0 or 8.5- i couldn't tell.... (weird i know, but it registered on BOTH tests right in the middle)

So- i went and got some ammonia chips for the filter (ammonia chips + carbon) and amquel... can i do both at once? they are getting a water change today- hence me asking before i do all this.

I have no experience with ammonia chips, but I would say the best thing to do with an ammonia spike is regular water changes (i.e daily @ about 25%) until its back down. Then again when you see the NitrIte spike. Carbon won't help with the ammonia.

Good Luck with 'culling' the mollies. We had the same problem with Guppies - it was a nightmare!

i'm not culling them- though the thought had crossed my mind- i'm giving to an LFS in town. he's very nice about taking 80 every other week :) i am hoping the next i take some in i will be left w/ only juvi's and fry. it will make me very happy.

as for the spikes in ammonia and nitrites- it's a fully cycled tank- or USED to be. why's it doing this again?

Don't go adding useless chemicals to your setup - no point - as the guy above says, nowt better than simple water changes, agree 100%

So why the spike?

Have you:
Changed the filter media lately?
Turned the filter off for any length of time?
Ammonia appeared in the tap water (test it)?
Forgot to add dechlor during a water change?
Changed the stocking levels?
Temperature or pH crash?

Andy