AquaClear Question

pmoyniha

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hello,
I am new to aquariums, and to be honest I have comitted most of the mistakes mentioned. I wish I had read a bit more before I started buying fish, however such is life.

Anyways, I have read and understand why the Amrid media for AquaClear filters is a bit of a waste of money if not harmful to my aquarium, but what about the Charcoal? In my 20 gal. aquarium I have live plants and a school of 6 Head and tail light tetras a pleco and a couple Clown Loaches. (One or both clown loaches will go to my brother when they get bigger). I have heard different opinions on the charcoal and I was just wondering what the wisdom of the group had to say?

Thanks,
Pat

It was suggested by many people that AMrid clears up the Ammonia from the water and as such it doesnt allow a "proper" cycle to set up in your aquarium..

pmoyniha said:
why is this though?
IMO, I don't think charcoal has any benefits unless you want to clear out some meds you used. It costs more and only lasts a couple days. After that you're only use for it is as a bed for beneficial bacteria to colonize. You change carbon more often than filter floss taking that bacteria out anyways. With filter floss I only change it twice a year.

Costs are another reason. Filter floss costs about $1.50 per bag and a bag lasts for years.

JMO tho and if you like it that's fine. Always go with what you think works best. :)

Ok Charcoal and carbon are pretty much the same thing and I've heard that carbon filters can actually "sterilise" (for want of better words) bacteria/viruses etc as soon as its removed and problems can come back with a vengence. Also if the charcoal is not changed regularly enough any toxins etc that are removed from the water can start to leech back in again.