Apistogrammas

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

MAM

Mamalammadingdong
Retired Moderator ⚒️
Reaction score
i'm still relatively new to fish keeping. i currently have mollies and cory cats and bettas. want to branch out (have a puffer tank in the works). i have 20 gal tank that i want to keep a smaller pleco (4" variety) or two and was thinking as tank mates possibly some agassizii (sp?) or ramirezi.
first question: will they be okay with the pleco or will they bother it?
second question: what would be the best number to get for that tank size and male to female ratio? (for example, could i have a pair of agassizii and a pair of ramirezi?) :unsure:
thanks folks!!!!

yeah they would pretty much leave the pelcos alone. everything that I have read about apistos and the other dwarves is that they like to be kept in a tril( ratio of 1 male to 2 females). there are littarlly TONS of different apistos out there.

are apistogramma varieties basically similar in behavior or is there one type thats more passive or one type thats more aggressive? a trio of one kind sounds nice, i will have to do some looking at my lfs to decide what kind i want. how do you tell males from females?

my understanding is that they are all pretty simmilar in behavior. and that they are all pretty passive. as for telling males from females usually males are the much more showoffish of the 2 and will be brightly colored

Most Apistos are bluffers, they'll huff and puff but rarely actually do anything except chase. Except Veijitas, they're downright mean!!
I have apisto hongsloi and cacatuoides in a ~50g and they are doing fine.
They are mostly harem breeders, keep one male to several females if possible. The females will claim they're own territory in caves and shady places and usually 10cm+ in circumference so leave enough space and caves to avoid hassle. The males will compete for territory higher up in the tank.