Apistogramma Cacatuoides

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

hexy

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi All,

I wanted to share some photos of my new Apistogramma Cacatuoides that I will be housing in my community tank.
I hope to breed them some wanted some input on them as firstly the male is massive - what type / colour of cacatuoide is this?
Secondly I am unsure if one of my females may in fact be male....

IMG_4053.jpg

IMG_4049.jpg

Female or is it a male?

IMG_4126.jpg

IMG_4122.jpg

I look forward to your comments & feedback
It's my first time breeding these so any advice would be appreciated. Currently housed with lots of cardinals and a few platies

hexy

I'm no help for your question, as I'm in the process of researching these guys and trying to figure out if I want an Apisto or Bolivian ram. I just wanted to say how cool those fish look! VERY nice.

they're both male, just different morphs.

Thanks fishlover for your comments. onidrase do you know what type of cacatuoide these are? Also how old they may be? Guess I'll need a few more females as currently ratio is 2males to 1 then... Also any hints on breeding these?

I do believe you have a wonderful pair of colourful cacatuoides!!!! The male is showing great colour in all fins and the female is very coloured too, she is a triple red for sure and soon if you get it right then your fry will be amazing.
Make sure you have plenty of caves for them to go and try heavily plant the area for the fry to hide.

You can tell the male from the female by size and colours, male has longer extended fins and grows around 1 1/2" bigger female grows to around 2" and has black fins under her gills after some time you will notice her change colour to a nice bright yellow :)

oh and for caca types male is a orange flash and looks as he has some white gold strain in him and female is a triple red with maybe a bit of white too. Very nice fish hexy