Another cycling question - I have ammonia and NitrAtes but no NitrItes

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

hazyvonne

Reaction score
Hello everyone! I'm completely new to this hobby, have never had fish before. I've been able to answer most of my newbie questions with some research but this one has got me stumped. I've been simultaneously fishless cycling my 55g main tank and my 10g quarantine tank. For the longest time they were pretty much at the same stage. Now my main tank is done cycling. But something weird started happening in the quarantine tank. When the nitrItes showed up ammonia started going down as expected. Shortly after NitrAtes joined the party. All good. Then one morning I checked and the ammonia hadn't budged - was still at 3 like the day before. The nitrItes were zero. And the NitrAtes were at 35-ish. It stayed like that for almost a week. Then the ammonia slooooowly over a few days went down to zero. Everything else stayed the same (no nitrites, 35-ish nitrates). I dosed ammonia back up to 3. That was about 4 days ago. And all this time I'm at 3 ammonia, 0 nitrItes and 35 nitrAtes. This morning the ammonia had gone down to 2-ish, but again 0 nitrItes and 35 nitrAtes.
Anybody experienced that before? What do I do? Kind of a bummer to have the main tank ready but the quarantine tank dragging behind...

It sounds like the cycle restarted for some reason in the small tank. Personally I think washing a filter in tap-water killing the BB is a myth.... but did you do that and thus proved me wrong?

I suppose you are good to go adding fish to main tank either way, but I assume you wanting to do it gradually if you are cycling a quarantine tank (the first addition of fish do not need to be quarantined).... you are already doing better than me or many by even thinking about quarantine.

You could try dividing the media in the two filters between the two and then check how both will cope with ammonia.