Am Being Told I Need To Transition To Brackish, Have Some Qs..

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

simonero

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I have a 10gal freshwater tank that is still cycling with a very young, hogchoker flounder.  I believe I am about a week into my cycle since the last full-water change (I was having some issues).  I am of the understanding that, even though he may have started out in freshwater, I will need to transition my tank to brackish if I'd like to keep him alive for as long as he fits in my aquarium.

Realistically, do I need to start this transition NOW, or with a flounder this young am I definitely fine for another week, or some other time period?

I am quickly learning a lot but I am a complete beginner - Everything I know I learned in the last two weeks.  Is it a silly idea to attempt a brackish tank as such an absolute novice?  

I read about putting plants in the tank because of algae in the pinned post.  I'm very amenable to the idea but 1) I have little to no lighting right now 2) other than things directly to keep my fish alive, I'd rather not do everything at once to spread out the $$$ and give me time to understand what I'm doing.  Do I absolutely need plants and lighting now, to avoid trouble in the long term?  Is there a special type I should go read about or does any LED light source (not from a LFS) work?  Is there a simple, inexpensive way to avoid algae problems for now to buy myself time getting plants & lighting?

Does making my tank brackish for this little fishy involve a gentle transition over a long period of time, or do I just supplement it the amount I want and maintain it?

Is there anything else (other than making sure any new fish are also brackish) that I should know before attempting to do this?  I don't want to find out that there are a bunch of major issues I need to learn about after it's too late, like I initially did with my new fish tank.