Alternative Filter For Biorb?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

nessar

Fishaholic
Reaction score
I need to change the filter in my biorb, the current one means I need to use the ceramic media which cuts my betta's fins, and he can't build a bubble nest due to the biorb filter. He got so stressed he constantly had clamped fins and then got ill, so I had to move him out.

Could I adapt it somehow to use an external filter or HOB filter? I've never used either before so dont know much about them. The current would have to be fairly weak. The biorb is 30litres.

Thanks in advance!

I need to change the filter in my biorb, the current one means I need to use the ceramic media which cuts my betta's fins, and he can't build a bubble nest due to the biorb filter. He got so stressed he constantly had clamped fins and then got ill, so I had to move him out.

Could I adapt it somehow to use an external filter or HOB filter? I've never used either before so dont know much about them. The current would have to be fairly weak. The biorb is 30litres.

Thanks in advance!

A HOB would be hard to fit due to the shape of the tank. Which model is it, the 'orb', 'ube', 'life' or 'flow'? If its the life or flow, a regular small internal filter should be fine - just feed the wire through the hole where the heater wire goes. If it's the 'ube' version, it may be harder to affix an internal filter, but definitely easier than in an 'orb'. I have heard of Eheim AquaBall filters being used in BiOrbs, but I don't know how people managed to attatch them - I have an 'orb' myself which now lies unused in the garage and I cannot think how they are attatched to the side with the sides being so curved.