Alkaline water!

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

Tatya

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Checked the water in Perth - its pretty much the same alkaline water as St A's bah humbug!

So it looks like my Amazon tank is out of the window (splash, smash, AAARRRGGGHHH!!)).

Isn't one of the lakes of Cichlids quite alkaline? Malawi? I can't really remember!

How easy are cichlids to keep? I've now two years experience with my once community now barb tank. Would that be enough?

Most lake cichlids are from hard waters. There easyish to keep, once you know how. But also if you still want to keep Amazons it won't be that hard to sofen the water :D

What about gouramis too? Are cichlids and gouramis aggressive outwith their own species? Or would they just fight each other (two males etc)?

What about Clown Loaches - would it be too alkaline for them - they like it slightly alkaline right?

HHmmm sixty questions ;)

you forgot the other 56 questions. lol :laugh: Cichlids, gouramis can be grumpy a lot of it can be down to personality, if there young they can be put in a tank with smaller fish with ver few fataluties but the older ones that aren't used to small fish will be a bit aggressive till they decide on a pecking order. I've had gouramis and angels in a tank with clowns, kuhlis,tetras and various others with no real problems. I can't introduce any small fish now though apart from rummies the seem to get left alone anything else gets eaten or killed.
Most fish will aclimatise to any water but introduce them slowly. ( things might have changed since I read up on this I'll go look see)

Looked to be just under 8 - but I haven't got a high range pH test kit yet.

I'll get that when I go to UDA on Friday - anyone want anything from there? ;)  :D

Na but you can ask him if he wants any Congo Tetras, Plus a few other fish.

just under 8 isnt that high. A bit of peat will bring that down fine :)