Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Advice with cycling

Discussion in 'Cycle your Tank' started by KingK, Mar 31, 2019.

  1. KingK

    KingK New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi guys I need some advice, Im doing a fishless cycle with ammonia, i have a 64liter tank with fuval u2 filter, Jbl aqua plus and Mando substrate i addd ammonia on day 1 got it up to 4ppm I’m now on day 7, my ammonia doesn’t seem to be going down, it’s between 3/4ppm, but I’m getting readings of nitrite 1ppm and nitrate 40/50ppm , is this a good sign? Has the cycle started?

    Thanks
     
  2. Guppylover3x

    Guppylover3x Fish Addict
    Tank of the Month Winner!

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    137
    Location:
    UK
    Hello and welcome to the forum. It’s always better to let the tank cycle naturally rather than adding ammonia in. I’d continue to check peramters everyday. Best of luck.
     
  3. steelo

    steelo Fish Fanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Normally, your nitrite readings will go way up long before your nitrates even register. Something seems off here, you shouldn't have 40-50 ppm nitrates after only 7 days unless you're using media from another tank. Also, your ammonia should be at zero if it is that far into the cycle. I'd test your tap water to see what your reading show. I linked a very good step by step guide on how to properly cycle by adding ammonia and doing lots of waiting.

    http://www.fishforums.net/threads/cycling-your-new-fresh-water-tank-read-this-first.421488/
     
    #3 steelo, Apr 1, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2019
  4. Guppylover3x

    Guppylover3x Fish Addict
    Tank of the Month Winner!

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    137
    Location:
    UK
    I agree, I’ve never done a cycle this way but there is definitely something strange about your nitrates being so high within 7 days.
     
  5. Deanasue

    Deanasue Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Global Moderator Tank of the Month Winner!

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2018
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    207
    Location:
    USA
    You have to use ammonia or fish food in a fishless cycle or you won’t have an ammonia source. OP, Did you add bottled bacteria or filter media/gravel from another tank? Are you shaking your testing solution bottles really well before testing? What are you testing with?
     
    #5 Deanasue, Apr 1, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2019
    • Informative Informative x 1
  6. Guppylover3x

    Guppylover3x Fish Addict
    Tank of the Month Winner!

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    137
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks for confirming.
     
    #6 Guppylover3x, Apr 1, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2019
    • Like Like x 1
  7. KingK

    KingK New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    7
    Thanks for the reply I’ve tested my water straight from the tap also Its showing zero nitrite, I’m not using any media or gravel from a other tank
     
  8. KingK

    KingK New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    7
    I’m using 9.5% ammonia , I used bottle bacteria (safe start ) at the beginning, I didn’t add any media/gravel from a other tank, yes I’m shanking my testing solution, I’m testing with api testing kit, my ammonia has dropped to between 2/3ppm
     
  9. Deanasue

    Deanasue Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Global Moderator Tank of the Month Winner!

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2018
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    207
    Location:
    USA
    Sounds like your moving in the right direction now. Maybe the bottled bacteria didn’t get shaken enough or something. Keep us posted!
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  10. KingK

    KingK New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yeah maybe, would you say from looking at the picture that the ammonia is 2ppm?
     

    Attached Files:

  11. KingK

    KingK New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    7
    One is with flash and one without
     
  12. Deanasue

    Deanasue Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Global Moderator Tank of the Month Winner!

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2018
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    207
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, I agree with 2ppm.
     
  13. KingK

    KingK New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    7
    Fantastic thanks, do you guys think it’s better to finish of the cycle first before adding live plants?
     
  14. steelo

    steelo Fish Fanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Kentucky
    I wouldn't add any plants until it is fully cycled. The tank is not cycled until both nitrites and ammonia are back to zero. Nitrates most likely will be very high and you would need to do a large water change at that point to dilute.
     
  15. Deanasue

    Deanasue Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Global Moderator Tank of the Month Winner!

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2018
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    207
    Location:
    USA
    You could do plants now but they will eat some of the nitrates. Might want to hold off on plants since you a had a rough start. They can eat up nitrates that you are trying to measure right now. They’ll be great after cycle is established.
     
    #15 Deanasue, Apr 4, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2019

Share This Page