Advice needed

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

enchanted

Fish Herder
Reaction score
I'm at a loss on my tank right now. It is my first attempt at a planted tank and I did it ALL WRONG. icon_sad.gif I didn't research properly, and made other mistakes.

Now I am in a pickle because my nitrogen levels are extremely low. I could raise these artificially but I was hoping for a more natural tank system.

Currently I'm running low light, but hope to upgrade to high light eventually. I would like at the moment to base the tank of low/medium light.

Here is the tank:
55 Gallon
1x Penguin 330 Filter
1x Penguin 170 Filter
1x Aqua-Tech 20/40 Filter (soon to be moved)
1x Rena Cal Submersible 300W Heater
1x 48" 40W Strip Light
2x 24" 15W Strip Light

As you can see I'm running about 1.27WPG. This tank also gets direct afternoon sunlight at an angel through a window along with indirect morning sun through a window on the other side of the house.

At this time I'm also trying to finish outfitting the basics of my other tanks, I picked up a bunch of used ones, so I would like to keep from spending anymore money on this tank at the moment.

Now the tank currently has:

1 Driftwood Piece (small about 12" long 2" round)
3x Primrose
3x Tropic Sunset Hygro
1x Anubias Nana
1x Unkown Crypt
1x java moss
2x Java Fern
1x Dwarf Sag
1x patch Micro Sword

For Fish:
5x Guppys
3x Oto
1x Pleco
8x Cory

I do intend to add more fish to this tank.

Now, here is my dilemna, what is going to grow big, what should I pull, etc??

Any ideas, help here would be nice.

Thanks,
Larry

I made a few changes to the plants tonight in hopes to help. They were:
1x Giant Hygro (6")
4x Tropic Sunset Hygro (2"-6")
6x Primrose (2"-8")
2x Java Fern
1x Small Clump Java Moss
2x Dwarf Sag
1x small patch Micro Sword

What's actually the problem? Are your plants not growing properly?