added live plants to a fishless cycling tank

megan1194

Reaction score
Hi,

I have a ten gallon tank that I'm currently fishless cycling. I've had the tank for about five weeks and it's still not cycled. I'm new to this and I'm really confused. Yesterday, I added live plants to my aquarium cause I heard it would help the cycle. Before I put the plants in there I did a partial water change to bring down the ammonia level. I also had nitrates and nitrites before I put plants in. After I put the live plants in, all my nitrites and nitrates were gone and now I have no idea where my tank is in the cycle or what to do now. I do still have like maybe 1 or 2 ppm of ammonia. I just don't know what to do now. I've never had a planted tank before.

Hi! welcome to the forum!

Which method of fishless cycling were you using before you added the plants? Most folks here generally go by this method (https://www.fishforums.net/threads/cycling-your-new-fresh-water-tank-read-this-first.421488/) but there are some other ones too so I wanted to see which one you were following.

Secondly, how many and what types of plants did you add? I'm not surprised that your nitrites and nitrates disappeared, especially if they are fast growing plants. If you have enough plants to do a "silent cycle", you can proceed in that direction (your ammonia should be gone in the next 24h if that is the case, I think), but if not then your best bet may be to either add more plants or proceed with a modified fishless cycle.