A quick question regarding pearl gourami stocking.

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Fishboy_Max

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I currently have a 30gallon square with: a female (I believe) pearl gourami, 6 (don't worry, I'm getting more) ember tetras and a few invasive snails I've been dealing with.
I was wondering if I could get another pearl?

Last edited by a moderator:
What is the tank's dimensions? Honestly the tank sounds too small for pearl gouramis

What is the tank's dimensions? Honestly the tank sounds too small for pearl gouramis
Hmm, I couldn't say off my head exactly but its about 1m*1m*1m.(not at home at the moment). But regarding the peral gourami, I have done a large amount of research and there is many different options on the matter, all I want is the best for my fish.
So it is quite debatable if the tank is big enough. I understand the bigger the better.
I am quite new to keeping them but she seems quite happy, demonstrating adequate behaviour and not showing any signs of stress or disease.
She has been in the tank for a month.

The first thing is to pin down the tank dimensions.

Second, are you certain the pearl gourami you have is female? As for adding another, this depends but generally this species is best in a small group with more females than males. One male and two females, or two males and three or four females, etc. The individual behaviour of the fish may impact this, and tank size is a major factor.

Hmm, I couldn't say off my head exactly but its about 1m*1m*1m.(not at home at the moment). But regarding the peral gourami, I have done a large amount of research and there is many different options on the matter, all I want is the best for my fish.
So it is quite debatable if the tank is big enough. I understand the bigger the better.
I am quite new to keeping them but she seems quite happy, demonstrating adequate behaviour and not showing any signs of stress or disease.