6X2X2 Tropical Tank Set Up

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

rsfan74

Reaction score
hi im new to all this so any help hugely appreciated.....

im looking to buy and set up a 6ft x 2ft x 2ft 700 litre tropical tank, the tank and stand are not a problem but would like any advice on filters, pumps and everything else that goes with, also acclimatising the water before and fish are added and then obviously the fish.

i know there are different ways and methods so i'll explain type of fish and then maybe someone can help from there with the set up, ok id like a few schools of smaller fish, colourful and maybe in groups of 6-8, would also like a 3 or 4 fish that hide inlogs or other accessories in the tank (nocturnal and pretty) and then a few larger fish that just roam through the day?

ok hope theres someone that can help as the guy at local retailers didnt have a clue about kids tanks lol

thanks muchly

john

Welcome to the site and fish keeping.

You will never see that stock in that tank. Think for schooling fish numbers of 30-50 in a tank that size. Next you will likely want a few bigger fish.

But long before you start to consider stocking you need to know the water parameter you have. Different fish need different parameters.

I would like to send you over to a site that has a great article for new fish keepers. It pretty well touches on all the essentials and is mostly on the money. I relied on it when I set up my first tank in early 2001. Once you have read that you may find you have more and different questions:

Go to the link below, click on Your First Aquarium, then click on Introduction and read then entire thing (not just the introduction) all the way through. Do not be shy about reading parts more than once :). After that do a Google Sump Filter or just go read here http://www.oscarfishlover.com/the-sump-filter