Zebra Danio

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

soph

Reaction score
Hi,
I have a female zebra danio and she is pregnant. she is in a second tank and she is with her male. she has been in for the past 2 days.

Is there something wrong?

soph

she is in with her male zebra danio.there are no eggs or fry in it.

what should i do? -_-

I am new at this. so thanks. :nod: i am waiting for her.

do you think i should put more male in with her?

Yep. Another male should simulate more of a natural environment and help them feel comfortable enough to breed.

Then just leave them be for a while. Some fish don't feel comfortable spawning with a lot of activity going on around them (e.g., their human peeking in at them every few minutes). Give them 24 hours or so...a dawn and a dusk period, at least, unhassled, to lay their eggs.

:cool: if i add another male, how would I know if she has given birth? :huh:

She'll be less fat.

Chances are though, that if you dont have marbles or so on the bottom for the eggs to fall inbetween, that you'll never see any eggs. Danios will simply eat their eggs right away.

FYI: she won't "give birth". she'll "lay eggs" or "spawn".

danios are notorious egg-eaters. if you can see the eggs, odds are good they can see the eggs. if they can see the eggs, odds are good they can eat the eggs.

put a cluster of marbles in the bottom for the eggs to fall between. that way the danios can't reach them. if your female danio suddenly looks a lot thinner, then you can reasonably assume she's laid. remove the parents; they'll eat any fry (baby fish).

She won't give birth. Danios can't give birth, they don't get pregnant. Danios lay eggs.