Who Gets Along Well In A Community 55 Gallon?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

ab420

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I am getting a 55 gallon set up very soon and would like to have an African Cichlid tank. I have been reading through the fish index, and it seems a lot of them are pretty aggressive. I would like it to be a community tank, but its not necessary if it means I'll have stressed fish or anything. I'm assuming the 1" of fish per gallon rule doesn't count with such large fish, so what would be a good peaceful, colorful stocking for a 55 gallon? Also, I'm not totally new to fishkeeping, but I am new to Cichlids, so easier varieties would be preferred. Thanks in advance!

I know Parrot Cichlids are a hybrid, but they have 4 of them at my LFS that are adorable, would they be ok in a 55 gallon? Would that be full stocked? Sorry, I couldn't find them in the fish index, so I'm not totally sure how big the Parrot's get, the LFS guy says no more than 8", but he wasn't sure about how much swimming space and territory they need.

hmmm.. well i say to go with 2 or 3 in ur 55 gallon see how they are and if there fine u could add another smaller type of central american cichlid into ur tank.

hmmm.. well i say to go with 2 or 3 in ur 55 gallon see how they are and if there fine u could add another smaller type of central american cichlid into ur tank.
Hmmm.... I may need a bigger tank... LOL! (oh no, its starting again...) :crazy:

These 4 Parrot Cichlids have been at the fish store together since they were babies, and they are now about 4" long!!!! :sad: The poor things have been there in a little tank with no decorations for their whole life, so I REALLY feel bad for them... I'd hate to take 3 and leave the one behind, but... If I just took 2 of them, the other 2 would still have eachother, and I would have a little more room left.

What would be a good addition to 2 Parrot Cichlids in a 55 gallon tank?