Which Is The Best Fish To Put In New Tank First

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Paradese

Reaction score
Hello Everyone!!

Newbie here! Looking around and reading your threads I think you will be able to answer my question easily and I would really appreciate some good advice.

My tropical tank is now ready for some resisdents and I have heard and read mixed opionons on what are there best fish to introduce to my new tank first.

Both Tetras and Zebra Donios have been suggested,

I'm swaying towards the Donios but would love your advice before I go out to get first fish.

:D

Hello Everyone!!

Newbie here! Looking around and reading your threads I think you will be able to answer my question easily and I would really appreciate some good advice.

My tropical tank is now ready for some resisdents and I have heard and read mixed opionons on what are there best fish to introduce to my new tank first.

Both Tetras and Zebra Donios have been suggested,

I'm swaying towards the Donios but would love your advice before I go out to get first fish.

:D

danios are much hardier... they would be a better choice than the tetras who like well established tanks. how big is your tank?

Thanks yes tank has been cycled and appears to be ready for fish.

The tank holds 64 litres (not sure what that is in gallons)

Thanks for the advice i think i will go with the Donios I would prefer something hardier for my first tropical fish.

Is there any fish that shouldnt be put with Donios later down the line if they do make it?

so is it the general rule of thumb - if fish are bigger the eat smaller fish??

so simalar size fish should be ok? -_-

so is it the general rule of thumb - if fish are bigger the eat smaller fish??

so keeping fish that are simalar size should be ok? -_-

Have you completed a fishless cycle? If so, your choice.