What Did I Do Wrong? (long Post Alert)

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Phaedra

Fishaholic
Reaction score
First posted here.

Okay, I've wracked my brain, searched the web, the forum, everything I can think of. So now I need some more experienced help. I'm going to try to be as detailed as possible, I hope nobody minds. While I've done a lot of reading, I'm still a newbie to the hobby and find identifying behaviors a challenge.

First off, here are the stats in my tank---

Tank- 10g, cycled (I have never had an ammonia or nitrite reading. Established with borrowed filter media.) Filtered w/ Air Pump.
Inhabitants- 5 (now 3) fancy male guppies, 1 african dwarf frog, 1 amano shrimp, 1 mystery snail
Tank age: 4 months, 3 with fish
Ammonia: 0
Nitrites: 0
Nitrates: 15
PH: 7.6

Tested: Every 2-3 days
Temp: It's warming up now, so the water is getting to near 80 degrees by midday, while in the morning it is around 75 (sometimes lower).
I removed my heater about a month ago after the temp started getting alarmingly high. (Around 82 if I remember right)

Water changes: Weekly, 20%
When gravel vac-ing, usually around 40%.
Aged, dechlorinated water or tap dechlorinated water.
A note about my water changes- I only have 2g of aged water, so with the larger changes, my habit is to use the aged water first, then use tap water, add dechlor, shake it around, and then add it to the tank. If it is too cold, I boil water (cold water from the tap) over the stove and add that until it meets or is near the "finger test" temp before adding it to the tank.

Feeding: 2x daily, flake food for the guppies. Every other day thawed frozen bloodworms for the ADF & Reptomin pellets. Snail & shrimp get whatever leftovers there are.

Symptoms:
Trying to remember everything here... Let's see.