Weird guppy behaviour

Pathagor

Reaction score
Hello folks..

Im a complete newb, having only started out in the fishkeeping world last weekend ;)

Last weekend I bought 2x guppies (1 male, 1 female) 2x neon tetras and a blue gourami. I didn't know much back then..but was told if you stick too many fish in your new tank they will probably all kark it....obviously from reading up about cycling etc I now understand why :)

Unfortunately on day 3 my male guppy discovered a little hole in my filter intake and got wedged into it while I was at work. I came home and couldn't see him anywhere, so thought the poor thing had been eaten somehow by the larger gourami, but then noticed his crushed little body stuck underneath the pump. Now the strange thing is, the femal guppy has been acting quite erratically since this happened. Previous to this, both guppies would swim around the tank quite happily, but now that the male is gone, the female is either resting at the bottom of the tank completely still (apart from an occasional flutter of her fins and some gill movement), resting on top of my heater near the surface, or is darting to and fro around the top of the tank at the rear. Is my female guppy grieving for her lost buddy?? The neons and gourami are acting fine.

:blink: