Very Sick Silver Dollar

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

saffymoomoo

Reaction score
Hey, Im a newbie here, but have been keeping fish around ten years. But, I have serious problems with my Silver Dollar. I noticed 5 days ago she wasn't eating, which is very out of character, had a look and noticed a white mist on her mouth, pretty sure its mouth rot. It was difficult to see in the aquarium, but she may have injured her mouth, but also have recently added a few new fish, which could equally have caused the problem. Did a third water change, checked water params and treated with Interpet Anti-fungus/finrot.

Left it four days, been really busy over weekend and its been difficult to look at her mouth as she has been hiding away behind plants.But yesterday, managed to get a good look and it had got considerably worse! It look more ulcerated now rather than just on the surface, very white in colour. She hasn't eaten since I noticed her off her food. Ok, so yesterday, I set up hospital tank 9although I am going to leave the Interpet treatment in the main tank for the full course to kill off bacteria outbreak. I am just treating hospital tank with salt and Melafix. When we first put her in yesterday, she was so stressed out, which I expected, and lost her colouration, went slightly listless. But soon perked back up. Her wound looks pretty bad, lost a lot of her nose area, and she isn't eating (don't want to feed her yet anyway) but she seems fairly alert and agile despite this.

Thing is, I know she is at least 16 years old. She was given to me by a good friend 8 years ago, and was a minimum of 8 years old back then! She did have a breeding partner, who was the same age, but we lost him about 8 months ago. He definitely died of old age, he did not have a mark on him, and still looked very beautiful.