URGENT!!! Goldfish unknown disease, PLS HELP!!

Dolphianity

Reaction score
Hi all, this is my first time posting to a forum so please be patient w me 😅😅
Over this last weekend one of my three fish, a large-ish lionhead goldfish, deteriorated rapidly over the course of about a day and had to be euthanized by about 6pm. It started in the morning when I noticed that pieces of his tail were falling off and he was a bit lethargic, but other than that nothing different. I thought it could be fin rot and went out to buy some aquarium salt. By the time I got back he had deteriorated much further; he could barely swim and his scales were flaking off. His fins were also bloody. He was so weak that he got caught in the filter (this was a first since the filter is relatively soft and he's big). I tested the water and the pH was high but other than that, nothing was off. I dosed the aquarium with salt, turned off the filter, tried to get him to eat. Nothing was helping and he looked like he was in so much pain. I put him down with clove oil because there was just no way he was going to recover. Poor little guy, I miss him. The decline happened so fast.
I currently have a 29 gallon tank with one bristle nose pleco and one goldfish. I know this pair isn't optimal but they haven't had any problems since I got them, about 3 years ago. The pleco has not been aggressive at all.
Yesterday I noticed my little guy's scales looking a bit worn, and his fins looking bad with some white on the ends. It looks like the beginning of whatever my late goldfish could have had.
I've scoured the internet for what it could be but I'm coming up blank. Parasites maybe?? He's looking significantly worse than he did yesterday, with scales flaking off and his fins looking more worn. I know I don't have a lot of time to find a solution. Luckily he doesn't look weak yet, but he's been staying my the heater so I turned the heat a little bit up for the entire tank. The pleco looks fine.