Treating fin rot in Betta

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

Kelly Preussner

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I am fairly new to fish & we have a 5 gal betta tank that houses 2 fish with a separator. Water condition is always very good. Tank has filter & heater. Ammonia is 0, nitrate 0 & nitrate 5. This is actually my daughters tank & her fish. Last week she informed me her fish’s tail looked ragged & thought something was wrong. No issues with his tank mate. So, after some research we removed the fish & put him in a small 1gal bowl with heater but no filter. Added 1 tsp aquarium salt & changed the water every day. It has now been 8 days & his tail looks much better. We think the stress came from us going out of town. She fed the fish a little extra then no food for 2 days while out of town & little extra when we came back. With good water conditions that is all the stress we could think of.
with the other fish we did a vacuum, rinsed all stuff in tank with hot water & did a 75% water change. Tank mate is still in that tank still no issues.
so, my question is what do we do now? Do we put the betta back in the 5 gal tank? Will there be a problem going from salty water every day to no salt? Will the tail continue to heal & grow? I have included some pics of his tail today.

Attachments

• 0F4F64D0-ED30-444D-AD98-34149BF0EF4B.jpeg
    0F4F64D0-ED30-444D-AD98-34149BF0EF4B.jpeg
    1.6 MB · Views: 104
  • AAE1FC76-AAB4-4780-8913-84D6D997DA15.jpeg
    AAE1FC76-AAB4-4780-8913-84D6D997DA15.jpeg
    1.7 MB · Views: 106
  • 2832197C-BFA8-463B-955F-8D37EDF0C0BB.jpeg
    2832197C-BFA8-463B-955F-8D37EDF0C0BB.jpeg
    1.8 MB · Views: 79
Hi there! I'm going to clear this up now so no one has the chance to be rude. It's not recommended to keep bettas together, especially if they're both male. There are many arguments on minimum tank size, but that's for another day :)