Tizer's 90 Litre Tiger Barb / Krib Tank

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Tizer

Team TetraTEC
Reaction score
Hola!

Well i've been using this forum for a few months now since getting back into Fish. My parents used to have some when i was younger and around November last year i decided i fancied having a crack. So i bid on a 240L Juwel tank on eBay and it all began from there.

The tank is now 4 months old and i've stocked it with some of my favourite fish, mostly Corydoras, Breeding Kribs, Neons, Black Neons, Bleeding Heart Tetras, Bolivian Rams and a couple of SAE's.

Since putting the Kribs in and having them breed i've noticed the vast majority of the fish move to the opposite end of the tank. I knew this would be the case if it happened but i didnt realise quite how much space they they would demand.

So basically, this new tank is going to be setup for the Kribs to allow my 240 to become a little more placid* for want of a better word and im going to have a crack at it with another favourite fish, Tiger Barbs.

So a few weeks ago i won a 90Litre Fluval Roma on eBay, got it home and gave it a really good clean up. This weekend just gone i filled it up and cleaned the left over sand i had from my big tank and dumped it in along with two bits of bogwood that were just looking out of place in the big tank :

dsc00987ze.jpg

Once this was done i bust open my 240's external 305 filter and nicked some white ceramic biomedia, i picked some quite dirty bits from the bottom tray, around 10 in total.

The Internal filter that came with this 90L requires 3 filter sponges, so i cut out the middle of the center sponge and sandwiched in the ceramic media, popped it into the filter and set it going.

I gave it a few hours then popped down to the localfish shop and spent about 30 minutes mulling over what to get, the Tiger barb's were the most attractive on offer, so knowing they were little nippers, i got 12.