The Final Question... Stocking Advice.

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

cooledwhip

Fishaholic
Reaction score
Hey everyone I have been making lots of posts based on my 46 gallon SUPER tall aquarium I got. I set it up and it has been filled for a while now. I have cycled it a bit with a small bit of ammonia as I am new to the fish out method. It was really the smallest amount, I don't think it did too much. Anyway. I still added three guppies and I have been using Seachem stability to help cycle it more.

I am ready to add SOME fish and start stocking. I have an idea of what to stock it with but I wanted to know if there are any more options I could do.

My dad (who this tank is for) wants the most colorful fish I can get. We were watching something on TV and he pointed out the saltwater fish and said "Wow can you put those in my tank". I had to explain to him the difference between salt and fresh water... But its ok.

There are so many options I can do, but here is what I was thinking.

one or two freshwater angelfish

small school of various tetra species:

8 neon tetras
8 Rummy nose tetras
8 Diamond Tetras
4 Corycats
8 Congo Tetras

I know its a lot of tetras but I don't know what else to stock it with. I really want to put an angelfish or two in this tank, that is a must because the tank has such high dimensions, 20 in long 18 in wide 30 in tall,

An angel or two would look amazing.

Do different species of tetras school together?
For example can I have 10 neons and 2 rummynose? Just wondering.

I know apistogramas would also be nice too, idk if they would fight with the angel though.

Please leave me thoughts and suggestions.

Being such a high tank I'd be tempted to put some hatchet fish in to inhabit the top, otherwise you may find a lot of your tank empty of fish, unless you have tall plants.

Munroco said: