testing water

fritzfish

Reaction score
:-( I set up my tank about 2 months ago and I have lost 6 fish so fare. I did check my water stuff and it all came out to be Ammonia 0.50,nitrate 0 ppm,
nitrite 0 ppm, Freshwater PH 7.6, and the last one high range PH 8.4-8.8. Could some please help me understand all of this... This is the second tank I have had and I'm tired of loosing fish..... Thanks.. ????

As i've recently discovered being a newbie here myself any ammonia is a bad bad thing.... Have you cycled your tank? How often and how much have you been changing the water?

Since you have ammonia and no nitrite or nitrate, it looks like your tank has not started cycling. Also, with your pH, you really only need to check either the pH or high pH. When you say the pH is 7.6 and the high pH is 8.4 to 8.8 that is a little misleading. Actually, the regular pH test is useless as it only goes to 7.6 so even if it was 10, it would still only show 7.6. If your pH generally runs that high, you can quit using the regular pH test and just use the high test kit. My pH generally runs about 6.6 so I never even open the high pH bottle.

Can you answer these questions and we will try to help you out.

1) What size tank is it - gallons or liters?
2) What fish and quantities do you have in it?
3) What fish have you lost?
4) How often and what size are your water changes?
5) Have you tested your tap water to see if there may be a prlblem there?
6) How often do you clean the filter and how do you clean it?
7) What is the water temperature?
8) How soon after adding the fish have they been dying?
9) How do you acclimate the fish?

Sorry for all the questions but they will hopefully solve your problem.

) What size tank is it - gallons or liters? 29gallons
2) What fish and quantities do you have in it?I have 2 black mollies, 1 dalmation male mollie, 2 silver mollies, 1 sword tail, 1 ellge eater, and 1 ballon mollie, and finally about 12 fry that where just born 2 days ago.