Teething Issues With My New Tank

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

JoshuaA

Fish Herder
Reaction score
TL:DR end of the topic

I think I should start with an introduction to who I am, So I am new to the tropical fish forums I found this forum whilst searching frantically a few nights ago for tropical fish troubleshooting, Unfortunately I have no tropical fish for dummies book at hand!

My name is Josh, I'm 19 and I live on the Wirral which for most people I imagine you would have a vague idea where that is. This is the first time I have kept fish myself many years ago when I was younger the family use to have cold water fish and in my memory it seemed to go flawlessly (I'm sure there were deaths that were kept under wraps so that my fragile little young heart was not broken). Once when I was younger me and my brother had a hamster bought for us each and well mine had multi coloured eyes... it died the first night and my mother tried to replace it only forgetting about the eyes... straight away I noticed this and was informed at such a young gullible age that the hamster had simple out growing its colour eye.

Anyway some background to my pet area, I currently have 2 rabbits, 4 gerbils and a Border Collie. Apart from the gerbils everything has gone flawlessly and then it came to these fish. I previously worked in a medium sized pet store working in the pet section for rabbits/guinea pigs as well as birds so if any of you guys have problems or want advice I may be able to help, the store also had a large aquatic selection... in fact the store was based around this fact, as I was on the pet side I unfortunately did not have the chance to delve into learning about aquatic pet care which is now to be my undoing.

So the scenario I am currently facing is....

1) I bought my girlfriend a Hagen Elite Style 60 aquarium from Petsathome