The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

machineninja

Reaction score
I am fairly new to the the hobby and completely new to the forum. i will be getting a new tank due to the $1 gallon sale at the local petco which will either be a 40g breeder or 55 g tank really cant decide. My current tank that i will be transferring from my current tank. A Half Moon/Circle 10g tank that my gfs mother gave up on after the fish died. I ran a fishless cycle for about a week. The tank has a Tetra Whipser 30g fully submersed filter and a submersed heater and a led light. and the substrate is small/medium gravel.

After the cycle I added
2 Tiger Barbs then a Spotted Cory

I know have
3 Tiger Barbs
2 Spotted Cory
1 Juli ( I wanted all Juli the store messed up and gave me spotted instead)
I also have anubias on driftwood.
What I want to stock my tank with is:
1 Shark - Either Rainbow or Red Tail
5 Tiger Barbs
5 Albino Tiger Barbs ( Will the albino's school with the regular tiger barbs?)
6 Corydoras (Spotted) any suggestions since I randomly have the Julii?

This is what i know i want to stock the tank with. Looking for some ideas on how i should transfer and start the tank, what other fish could i possibly have, substrate, plants, and etc

My current plan is to make a rock background, have a few plants along with more driftwood, and once the tank is cycle I thought adding the albino tiger barbs to the new 55g tank to start off.

first of all welcome to the forum, i hate to be the bearer of bad news but your tank isnt cycled, please read the link in my signtaure on cycling, and dont add any more fish at the moment, also i suggest to always go for the biggest tank option as your fish will thank you for it, do you have a liquid based test kit?, it will be like your bible throughout the cycle so i also suggest you get one if you dont already have one

Hi and welcome.