Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Tank Slime/film, Algae?

Discussion in 'Algae Removal' started by greenmumma141, Jan 28, 2013.

Tags:
  1. greenmumma141

    greenmumma141 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1,497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    US
    Hey guys, my tank has been up and going for about a month now (started with cycled filter) and I havent had a single bit of algae, but I noticed that my tank looks cloudy, so looking closer I could see that the inside of the glass has a slime on the front and sides too. It's more noticable infront of the filter outputs. If it's some sort of algae that's okay, I was waiting to get a couple bn's anyway. But im worried it's not algae and something bad lol.  It doesn't appear to be green, more white I would say, and I can easily smear it off with my finger. Looking really really close, you can see little dots in it as well. Here is my tank info:
     
    60 Gallon heavy planted
    (2) aquaclear 70 hob filters
    playsand substrate
    water stats are all great, 0 ammonia, 0 nitrite, 7.9 ph
    i dose 2 ml a day with seachem flourish
     
    any help or input is very much appreciated :)
     

     
  2. Mikey1

    Mikey1 Moved On

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    0
    just wipe it off with a sponge....quit worrying so much, its fine and normal
     
  3. greenmumma141

    greenmumma141 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1,497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    US
    alright alright [​IMG]
     
  4. Ps3Steveo

    Ps3Steveo Planted Experimentalist

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    5,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    GB
    Got a pic, sounds like bacteria.
     
  5. greenmumma141

    greenmumma141 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1,497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    US
    well that doesnt sound good, Ill get a pic, hopefully i can get one up close without it blurry... I wiped a big area of it, and it is actually of a brownish color. I've recently added peat moss to both of my filters, could that be what's going on? pics to follow...
     
     
    I couldnt get a good shot of what it looks like, this is the only pic where you can slightly see what's going on. I wiped a spot clean to show the slight cloudiness of the glass. I circled the area on photobucket, but the doodling isnt showing up in the pic, not sure why. you can't really see it, but there's a slight line in the middle of the barbs.
     
     
     
    [​IMG]
     
    here's what the sponge looks like after a small area was cleaned.
    [​IMG]
     
    and my trash bag background looks much better in person lol the flash is very harsh. The color to my water is from the peat in the filters, it's not bc i have dirty water [​IMG]


    blah. those pics don't show anything! It's slimy and brown. Im assuming it has something to do with the peat bc its thickest where the output water hits the glass. i wish i had better camera skills. [​IMG]
     
  6. Ps3Steveo

    Ps3Steveo Planted Experimentalist

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    5,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    GB
    Hmmm could just be Diatoms starting as you recently planted it you might have a little melt causing minor ammonia.
     
  7. greenmumma141

    greenmumma141 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1,497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    US
    just checked my ammonia and it is high, 0.25 ppm.. water change! will the diatoms die off on their own or do I have to get rid of them?
     
  8. Ps3Steveo

    Ps3Steveo Planted Experimentalist

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    5,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    GB
    I'd clean them off, your filter will eventually deal with the ammonia.
     
  9. greenmumma141

    greenmumma141 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1,497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    US
    okay, will do. are diatoms brown? during my water change I cleaned a big portion of it and it is indeed very brown and gross [​IMG]. Would a bn eat this stuff?
     
  10. Alm0stAwesome

    Alm0stAwesome Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    GB
    Definitely diatoms. Normal for new setups and will go away on its own in time. Just manually remove it with a sponge or toothbrush as needed.

    BNs and otos love the stuff if you've got the space.
     
  11. greenmumma141

    greenmumma141 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1,497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    US
    I do have the space, and Ive actually been dying to get a bn or two but my tank was so squeaky clean, i wanted to wait. Looks like Ill be heading to the lfs tomorrow if my spike is better (after two water changes its back down to 0 ppm) ill check again in the mornin :) Thanks for all the help guys.
     
     
     
     
    see, i wasn't being a ninny, i have diatoms [​IMG]
     
  12. BigFish01

    BigFish01 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Muskegon, Michigan
    The bn plecos will clean you right up. I have found that they love my brown algae but wont touch the green?? Interesting to me!! Good luck!! :)
     
  13. Alm0stAwesome

    Alm0stAwesome Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    GB
    BTW baby BNs will plow through the diatoms faster than the adults ones - doesn't make sense but it's true!!
     
  14. greenmumma141

    greenmumma141 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1,497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    US
    i will def. be getting a baby bn :) i was thinking maybe two, but Im not sure. Ill start with one and see how that goes. is 2 too many for a 4 ft tank?
     
  15. Alm0stAwesome

    Alm0stAwesome Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    GB
    Depends on your other stock but no, in regards to floor space you've got loads of room for two :)
     

Share This Page