Small Shell Dwelling Cichlids

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

matchstickman47

Fish Herder
Reaction score
im doing some changing around with my tanks, and i hate plants. so i decide to up the pH and change to africans

i have no idea what kinds to get
obv they have to be small, so tang shell dweller?

problem is ive no idea what they are called? how big they get? how many could i

tank

11o uk litres
26 gallons

80cm x 30 cm x 50cm

ive seen pseudos in the shop n they look so cool and very cheap as oposed to other cichlids ive seen ( but they get tooo big ) :(
ps are shel dwellers as cool as othey cichlid n will i need shells? <---- total noob :S

They are not as colourful, but they are jolly interesting.

And yes, you will need shells.

Have at look at the following, I pinchd it off the net (from http://www.petfish.net/kb/entry/424/)

Shelldwellers: Tiny Tanganyikan Treasures
By: Molly Leonard (Littlemousling) - FinsOut.com

Neolamprologus multifasciatus © Clint Norwood

The shelldwelling fish of Lake Tanganyika in East Africa, known variously as shelldwellers, shell-dwellers, shell dwellers, and the familiar “shellies,” are often kept for their size but are perhaps most notable for their evolutionary position. Tanganyika is one of the oldest lakes in the world, often estimated at around 12 million years old. Unlike the more recently formed lakes Malawi and Victoria, the cichlid of Lake Tang have had plenty of time to adapt into a variety of niches. Because of the high mineral content of the lake, the abandoned shells of dead snails stay whole and are not dissolved by the water. The combination of these two factors led to the development of shelldwelling cichlids which use the shells, rather than the lake’s many caves, as protection and for reproduction.