Small Cory in Quarantine. Help.

Pet of the Month Starts Now!
FishForums.net Pet of the Month
đŸ¶ Click here to enter! 🐰

Ozzie Boss

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
21BC80BD-0E1B-499F-9E0C-D8DF551FF50D.jpeg

Here is the picture of the sick Cory in the quarantine tank (excuse the mess it’s the leftover food he didn’t eat that I need to siphon out) Is there anything visually wrong with him? Like a fungus or parasite? I’m a novice when it comes to figuring out this type of stuff.

Some background about this fish is that I got him when I bought 5 Emearld Corys from a fish store. They gave me 2 smaller ones as they were the last ones they had. I put them in the 50 gallon and they were doing great being extremely active. I gave them a few days and they started eating except for the 2 smaller ones. I left it alone thinking they needed more time to establish but every time I added shrimp pellets it felt like they were purposely swimming away from the food and separating themselves from the others. This went on for 2 weeks until the smallest one died. I think it starved itself to death because I never saw it eat. Thinking that I netted the other small one (the one in the picture) and put it in a quarantine tank added a little bit of salt and a water conditioner to “relieve stress” I then added some food and after a while he ate a bit. My question is if the lack of eating cause the death of my smallest Cory and sicken this Cory? Or is it something different?

My water parameters:
Nitrate:0ppm
Nitrite:0ppm
PH: 7.5
GH:180ppm
KH:80ppm

Not sure if it helps but the 50 gallon is a planted tank with a sand substrate. The stocking of the tank was 7 white skirts and 6 emerald corys until the one pasted away.

Emerald cory is actually Brochis splendens, which is a different species that resembles a Corydoras. However, they are treated the same and behave in the same way.

----------------------