Shrimp Very Active After Water Change. Are They Okay?

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

BeckyCats

Fishaholic
Reaction score
I am new to fish and to shrimp, and I have a few of each in a 10 gallon tank. Because the tank is small, I am religious about water changes and keeping nitrates and nitrites at zero as close as I can. I did a gravel vacuuming and water change tonight (about 20 - 25%) and later noticed that the shrimp were swimming all over the aquarium. They are way more active than before. Did I do anything wrong? Are they distressed? Will they be okay? If so, in the future, should I do a smaller change, like maybe 10%? Poor critters. I'm worried about them. Thank you!

My shrimp are the same after a water change.

Are you using a dechlorinator to treat the water? Eg Seachem Prime?

Water changes stir up sediment which includes particles consisting of bacteria and Algae.  Much of which is food to the shrimp.  My shrimp are the same.

Yes, I do use a dechlorinater, although it's funny you should ask. It was the first thing I thought of, "did I forget the dechlorinater?" But I did remember.

I am so relieved to hear that others experience the same thing and that I haven't somehow harmed them. Has anyone noticed a difference with smaller vs larger water changes?

Yes this is pretty normal after water changes that shrimps zoom about the tank for various reasons to do with the fresh new water and minerals.

One other reason you may see shrimps zooming around, this is especially true with cherry shrimps, you did not mention which species of shrimps you have btw.
Is that the male cherrys shrimps (easily identified as smaller and more transparent in colour than females as well as slightly different body shape, males are slimmer in abdomen) are excited that a female may be ready to start having eggs (berried as we call this) and getting ready to fertilise.