red platy

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

TeKnoLord

Reaction score
i need to get a new platy, one died but not sure if maleor female, one that died has a small black fin on the bottom towards the back, like a triangle pointed down , the other has a fin in the same place but is longer pointing towards the tail, i know this is how u tell the sex, but which one is the male and which one is the female, so i know which one to ask for... if u can show me a pic of the male, and a pic of the female would appreciate it, not sure why died, res of the fish are fine, ph 7.0 - 7.2, ammonia 0, nitrite 0.1 or just under, tank is just becoming established finally, only had the 2 platties, 1 male and one female

sounds to me like you lost your girl but I am a beginner also so I'd wait for somebody else to reply!
I don't have any photos for you but if you have a cheeky flick through some books at your lfs there should be some in there.

Hi and welcome to TFF :)
This link has a good pic of a male and female platy although since they belong to the livebearer group of fish, fish like mollys, guppys and swordtails also have the same shaped sexual organs;

http://fish.orbust.net/livebearers.html

Can you describe any symtoms/strange behavior the fish was showing before it died?
How big a tank are they in/how many gallons does it hold and were the platys with any other fish?

thanx for the info, i am used to dealing with gupies and red tail sharks, got new tank first in about 15 yrs, and wanted to add a variety

i had one of each platy, do u recommentd a different reatio, or is 1:1 ok