Ready for more fish

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Missy

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hey Everyone,

Finally! After royally messing up and cycling with fish, adding them way too quick and putting way too many in the tank (could you tell I'm still learning??? :blink: )... My water levels are great and I am ready for a few more fish. (I have a 20 gallon hex by the way and do not have much room left in it.)

Here's the problem. First, I have three swordtails which thankfully survived and a small Pleco (Yes, I know, he will grow too large for this tank. I didn't know that when the lfs said he'd be great for me but I am saving for a larger tank so I would like to keep him.) I also have one male sailfin molly that survived, both females died at the hands of my stupidity :*) .
The molly does not seem well, he stays virtually in the same place at the top of the tank and although he shows no signs of illness he is not very active. I think its loneliness since he has been that way since his females died. Is this the case?
If so, I don't know what to do with him since I have learned, doing research now as I should have been beforehand, that he should have salt and Plecos and Corys should not. Also, with 3 mollies, 3 swords and a pleco, the tank is basically overpopulated.
I would definitely like a few panda corys and maybe something that dwells in the top and happily lives alone.
What is in the best interest of my sad molly. Should I return him to the pet store. They are very nice there but I can't exactly vouch for the quality of their tanks.

Sorry to throw so much at everyone but I really appreciate any advice you can offer.