Ray's Journal

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

Rayne457

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi my name is Ray. I am going to start a marine journal although I already have a tank started. I have a 55 US gallon saltwater tank. It is fairly new(about 2 weeks) and upgraded from a 25 US gallon. I am not an expert by any means. Therefore, I do not have the proper equipment and do not have enough live rock. Also, I didn't have anywhere to keep my fish so they were added right away. That is why I ask that you bare with me and understand why my tank doesn't follow a lot of protocols I have seen from some of you.

I am married with two children. A boy and a girl. Therefore money is tight and things for the tank will come at a slow pace.

In my tank I have:
-1 Yellow tailed damsel
-2 Clown fish
-1 Coral banded shrimp
-1 Blue legged hermit crab
-2 Bumblebee snails
-1 mushroom coral
All of these are doing fine so far. The mushroom coral was a freebie and is doing surprisingly well. Here are a few pictures to get started. I do not have the best camera in the world though.

This is the mushroom coral.
SDC12601.jpg

Full shot of tank. Notice one side is cleaner because I didn't have a light but now have a make shift light for time being.
SDC12600.jpg

Yellow Tailed Damsel.
SDC12597.jpg

Clown fish pair.
SDC12593.jpg

Left corner can kinda see my coral banded shrimp.
SDC12592.jpg

thats ambititious if you do not have the proper equipment!!

you obviously know the set up isn;t adequate enoughhence your comment. why did you add the fish straight away? is that because they came from the smaller tank

I would keep a very close eye on parameteres and make more live rock and a decent light a priority if you want to keep corals :good:

Hi and welcome.

Nice coral. It will be good to watch this thread as your tank progresses.