Pugnax ?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

hamfist

Fish Herder
Reaction score
Saw something new (for me) today at my LFS. A couple of large Betta's. Short fins (just slightly longer than a typical female splendens), bright colours but much bigger and bulkier than a Splendens. About 2-3 times the bodyweight of a male splendens I would guess.
I asked what it was, and was told that it was a Betta Pugnax. Really nice fish, BTW !

Anyway, on getting home I did a quick google and all the pugnax pictures online had much, much duller colours than the fish I saw. These fish were really bright purple all over, gorgeous, identical colour to many male splendens one sees in the shops.

Are there really pugnax around with these colours, were they hybrids ? Were they something completely different ?

Any ideas, I'm fairly new to Bettas really.

everything i've seen to do with pugnax shows they're quite dull too, but wild type betta's are getting more popular, and with that there's a lot more playing around with making them colourful and pretty. if you're interested in getting them i'd ask the shop where they got them from, and if possible contact the breeder, as there's a good chance they're localish. if the shop say they're wild caught i'd be a bit wary, unless someone else is aware of a more colourful wild type?

a lot of wild betta's vary in colour and shape etc. depending on their location too though, these could well be wild caught pugnax, just caught somewhere that no ones found them before. they could also be a different species altogether though.

i'm not an expert though.... i've been looking into wild betta's a lot recently, and everything i've typed is based on my somewhat limited knowledge!